Introduction


Who are we?

The Holstein Night promotes the Holstein breed in Wallonia. Today we are taking innovative steps by responding to the requirements of livestock farmers and our partners. The Holstein Night is a Benelux Open competition that is unparalleled in Europe.

It is organised by the Dairy Boards of Namur, Luxembourg and the not-for-profit organisation AWE. The committee is made up of around thirty volunteer cattle farmers. AWE, the Wallonian cattle farming association (l'Association Wallonne de l'Elevage), contributes by providing logistics and several of its staff members.


« Our ambition is motivated by a desire to stand up for a positive image of Wallonian dairy genetics both abroad and at home. »

We are all driven by the same passion: cattle farming and the Holstein breed. The Holstein Night is an opportunity to provide Wallonian cattle farmers with the chance to display the quality of their animals for an audience of professionals from all four corners of Benelux and further afield. It is a showcase for our cattle breeding.

Over the years, the board has continually striven to improve and to meet the requirements of farmers, visitors and sponsors. Particular attention has been paid to promotion, contact with the press and relations with our partners.

It is because of this enthusiasm and professionalism that each of us displays, along with our need and desire to improve on every front, that this evening has become so unmissable.





Download our 2017 activity report

Download our 2016 activity report





From a regional competition to a Benelux Open

  • 1995 : Didier Robert, technician at AWE (Wallonian Cattle Farming Association), decided to make the region of Luxembourg's competition more dynamic by transforming it into a show. Rather than taking over the whole of the Neufchâteau exhibition centre, he decided to organise an evening competition. The Holstein Night was born.
  • 1997 : The regional show was expanded to include all of Wallonia via the best regional prize competition composed of 5 animals.
  • 1998 : Holstein Night moved its headquarters to Libramont and the new Walexpo Hall.
  • 2002 : Farmers from both Namur and Luxembourg organised a joint regional show.
  • 2004 : Cattle farming prizes were replaced with an inter-regional competition with 10 animals per Wallonian region.
  • 2007 : Flanders was the guest of honour at the inter-regional competition.
  • 2008 : The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg was the guest of honour at the inter-regional competition. Flanders was represented once again.
  • 2009 : A unique Benelux Open competition. For the first time, every Belgian, Luxembourgian and Dutch cattle farmer could take part in the same competition with no limit on registrations. It was a grand première.
  • 2010 : The second edition of the Benelux Open. Genetics trophy. The genetics partners took part in the first genetics challenge.
  • 2011 : A preview of the Holstein Night, an international Blonde D'Aquitaine competition.

 
Catalogue 2018


Télécharger



Our partners in 2018
 

We would like to thank our loyal partners :

Présentation


Qui sommes-nous?

La Nuit de la Holstein assure la promotion de la race Holstein en Wallonie. Aujourd'hui, nous innovons en répondant à l'attente des éleveurs et partenaires. Aujourd'hui la Nuit de la Holstein est un concours OPEN BENELUX inédit en Europe.

La Nuit de la Holstein est organisée par les commissions laitières de Namur, Luxembourg et AWE asbl. Le comité se compose principalement d'’une trentaine d’'éleveurs bénévoles. L'’Association Wallonne de l’Elevage (AWE asbl) contribue à l’organisation en mettant à disposition sa logistique et quelques membres de son personnel.


« Notre ambition se motive par une volonté de défendre une image positive
de la génétique laitière wallonne tant dans notre pays qu’à l’étranger »

Nous sommes tous animés par une même passion : l'élevage et la race Holstein. La Nuit de la Holstein est l'occasion d'offrir aux éleveurs wallons l'opportunité de mettre en avant la qualité de leurs animaux devant un public constitué de professionnels venant des quatre coins du BENELUX et ailleurs. C'est une vitrine de notre élevage.

Au fil des années, le comité n’a cessé de se perfectionner, de répondre de mieux en mieux aux attentes des éleveurs, des visiteurs, des sponsors. Entre autre, la promotion, le contact avec la presse et la qualité de l’accueil des partenaires sont particulièrement soignés.

Cet engouement et ce professionnalisme, nous le devons à chacun d'entre nous qui par l'exigence et la volonté de sans cesse perfectionner les détails a rendu cette soirée incontournable.





Télécharger notre rapport d'activité 2017

Télécharger notre rapport d'activité 2016





Du concours provincial à un Open BENELUX

  • 1995 : Didier Robert, technicien de l'AWE (Association Wallonne de l'Elevage), souhaite redynamiser le concours provincial du Luxembourg en le transformant en show. Plutôt que d'occulter la totalité du hall de Neufchâteau, il décide d'organiser le concours la nuit. La Nuit de la Holstein est née.
  • 1997 : Le provincial s'élargit à toute la Wallonie à travers le concours du meilleur lot provincial composé de 5 animaux.
  • 1998 : La Nuit de la Holstein prend ses quartiers à Libramont dans le nouveau Hall du Walexpo.
  • 2002 : Les éleveurs namurois et luxembourgeois organisent leur provincial en commun.
  • 2004 : Les lots d'élevage sont remplacés par un concurs interprovincial avec 10 animaux par province wallonne.
  • 2007 : La Flandre est l'invité d'honneur de l'interprovincial.
  • 2008 : Le Grand-Duché du Luxembourg est l'invité d'honneur de l'interprovincial. La Flandre est à nouveau présente.
  • 2009 : Concours unique Open BENELUX. Pour la première fois, chaque éleveur belge, luxembourgeois et hollandais peut participer à un même concours sans aucunes limitations de l'inscription. Une grande première.
  • 2010 : Deuxième édition du concours OPEN BENELUX.
    GENETIC'S trophy. Les partenaires génétiques participent au premier challenge des génétiques.
  • 2011 : Un avant première de la Nuit de la Holstein, concours internationnal Blonde D'Aquitaine.
  • 2015 : 20° anniversaire ( édition spéciale) Première participation d'un éleveur allemand; présentation de éleveurs Blanc-Bleu Belge de la province du Luxembourg

 
Nos partenaires en 2018
 

Nous remercions nos fidèles partenaires :